The Episcopal Synod with the Catholicos as its president is the apex body of all bishops. The authority of the synod is final and binding. It has exclusive rights and privileges in the matter of upholding the faith of the church, its discipline and order of

Apostolic Succession. As regards temporal matters the church is guided by the Malankara Syrian Christian Association. The bishops rule the diocese assigned to them by the synod.

Front row from L to R : H.G.Paulose Mar Pachomius, H.G.Zachariah Mar Anthonios, H.G.Kuriakose Mar Clemis, H.G.Geevarghese Mar Ivanios, H.G.Thomas Mar Athanasios, H.B. Paulose Mar Milithios, H.H.Baselious Mar Thoma Didymos I, H.G.Mathews Mar Barnabas, H.G.Dr.Thomas Mar Athanasius, H.G.Dr.Yuhanon Mar Meletius, H.G.Dr. Yakob Mar Irenaios, H.G.Dr.Mathews Mar Severius,

Back row from L to R : H.G.Dr. Gabriel Mar Gregorios, H.G. Mathews Mar Theodosius, H.G. Abraham Mar Epiphanios, H.G. Alexios Mar Eusebius, H.G.Yuhanon Mar Chrisostomos, H.G.Dr. Yuhanon Mar Dioscorus, H.G.Zachariah Mar Nicholovos, H.G.Geevarghese Mar Coorilos, H.G. Joseph Mar Dionysius, H.G.Yuhanon Mar Polycarpos, H.G.Dr. Mathews Mar Timotheos, H.G.Dr.Zachariah Mar Theophilus.


Click here for more information about the Administration of the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church